What’s on my Netflix list? – Get some inspo!

Hey guys!

Hope everybody is doing good and I hope all my Irish readers aren’t too bogged down from the awful weather we’re having! It hurts. It really does. Soon enough what we call the “Leaving Cert weather” will be back in full swing! If you’re doing exams, I’m so sorry. Sometimes you gotta take one for the team, guys.***

Today I’m going to be sharing a few things off my Netflix list with you! I know that sometimes I scroll through the categories for what seems like forever, before just settling for the same old show you’ve re-watched ten times. Rupaul’s Drag Race. Ahem. Hopefully this will give you some inspiration! If not, well then, I’m not sure, I’m sorry..I guess.

If you’re a Netflix fiend like me, you will know just how much a good movie, show or documentary can drag you into a whole different world full of emotion. We all know how addicted we were to 13 Reasons Why and if you haven’t watched that yet, I can give you a longer list of why’s to listen to those damn tapes. Can we all just take a moment of appreciation for Jeff? He deserved better. Don’t lie, you definitely had the Kim K crying face on during that episode.

Image result for 13 reasons why meme clay

So as I said before, I’m a huge fan of true-crime documentaries and movies so naturally most of my Netflix list is the like. I’ll try not to just add this genre, for all you people who don’t think they’re interesting in the slightest. These people (including my boyfriend, rage) literally baffle me. Like, how?!

Anyway! Let’s get into the list:

Killer Legends:

This documentary examines “four terrifying urban legends” in a “spine chilling” documentation of what true crimes may have inspired them. This was released in 2014 and almost has a 5 star Netflix rating, which seems promising. It is 1 hour and 24 minutes in length, so to examine four urban legends in such a short time frame, I doubt we are given much detail. However it still seems like it’s worth the watch, and what else would I be doing on a weeknight at 2A.M?

Narcos:

This U.S TV drama is probably one of the most popular Netflix originals of all time, and I have yet to find out why. It states that it is the true story of Colombia’s “infamously violent and powerful drug cartels” which from what I gather, sounds pretty good. I’m very late to the show on this one, so don’t slate me! I’ll get there eventually. There’s two seasons composed of 10 episodes on Netflix currently, and it has a full five star rating. This actually came to be on my list because Netflix suggested it due to my interest in Fargo, which if you haven’t seen it, what is wrong with you? Do it. Now.

Suits:

This has been on my list forever. I honestly don’t know why I haven’t watched it yet. Netflix also suggested this for me because of my interest in The Good Wife, which is phenomenal. There are five seasons of Suits on Netflix, 12 episodes in season one, and 16 in each thereafter. This is the story of a college dropout (relatable whoops) who impresses a big lawyer with his “razor-sharp mind” and who scores a job even with having no legal credentials. This sounds funny, although I get the feeling that much more happens than just comedy. This scores the tiniest bit lower with a 4.5 star rating, which is still impressive.

Freaks and Geeks:

Usually I wouldn’t go for a show that is purely “comedy” however this seems like it couldn’t not be a good watch with James Franco, Seth Rogen and Jason Segel all starting their careers in this show. It’s set in the 80’s, where a group of high school students showcase their social struggles. Freaks and Geeks seems like the type of show to be full of awkward happenings, awful haircuts and moments that just make you go “Oh, god no” with a hint of compassion but a belly full of laughter. Released in ’99, this show despite being purely comedic, seems right up my ally. It scores lower again with a rating of 4 stars, however that’s also pretty appealing.

The Captive:

Ryan Reynolds stars in this abduction story, which shares with the viewers the turmoil a young girl’s parents go through after her kidnapping. It seems to depict a story of never giving up hope, with clues about the girl’s whereabouts coming straight from the abductor’s mouth. I always love when a blurb says there will be a “sinister twist”, it just really appeals to me. I’m not sure why, but you could tell me the most boring story about algebra or geometry and if you say there will be a sinister twist I will most-likely be listening with open ears. It was released in 2014, and despite having a satisfying running time of 1 hour and 51 minutes and what appears to be a gripping story line, it has only scored a 3.5 star rating.

 

Image result for netflix meme

So guys that’s it! I’ve actually got a plethora of shows, movies and documentaries on my list but I don’t want to bore you all too much!

Hopefully this gave some of you inspiration, or if you have watched any of these let me know in a comment below!

 

***If you are doing state examinations at the moment, whether it be your Leaving Cert or Junior Cert, or the equivalent in your country, don’t forget to take a break and settle your mind. When I did my exams, my brain got so consumed in what may happen that I forgot that I needed to take care of myself. Exams are not the be-all and end-all of your life. You may think that now, but in a few years time you will be going for job interviews and nobody will ask if you achieved that Higher Level A1 in Maths, okay? Take some time to yourself, relax and let your mind go. Study, but don’t overdo it, that can be counterproductive. It will all be okay in the end! If the stress is getting too much, and you have nobody to talk to, or need an unbiased ear away from your friends and family, reach out to me on my Facebook, Instagram, Twitter or even right here.

 

Thank you for reading! I hope you all enjoyed that. By the time you read this I hopefully have something crossed off and I will make an edit if needs be!

 

Love Always,

Niamh x

Leave a Reply

