ABH: Modern Renaissance Palette Review

Hey guys!

So, for my first blog post I’m going to give you my thoughts and experiences using the much-anticipated Anastasia Beverly Hills: Modern Renaissance Palette.

This palette is probably the most loved, raved about and notorious eyeshadow palette ever released. I recently got my hands on this product after an extremely long and painful wait as almost everywhere was out of stock. I ordered it straight from http://www.anastasiabeverlyhills.com/ for the price of $42, shipping not included.

Image result for modern renaissance palette stock photo

When this palette arrived, I had never been more excited to use and play around with a product! It came in a beautiful outer packaging and inside revealed a gorgeous blush-pink suede palette. To look at, this product is an array of warm tones, including one of my favourite shades Love Letter.

It includes a total of 14 pans, some matte and some shimmer/satin shades. The non-shimmer shades in this palette are described as having an “ultra-matte” finish although from what I personally can tell, there are extremely fine micro shimmers in these colours. Does this make a huge difference to their performance as mattes? Not at all.

As I continued to use this palette, it quickly became a top shelf favourite of mine, as it did many others. I reach for this product quite often as you can create extremely versatile looks with the shade selection. From what I can tell from my use, each shade’s formula performs brilliantly, with amazing pigment and a beautiful buttery/creamy texture.

The Modern Renaissance palette also came with a double sided ABH brush which is shown in the photo above. Receiving a brush in any palette is always an added bonus, many companies are catching on to this and providing double sided brushes with their palettes, (Urban Decay have been doing this for years). One end of this brush can be used as a fluffy crease brush for your transition shades, the other being a smaller, more condensed flat brush. The flat side can be used for packing on the more shimmery shades to the lid. I reach for the flat brush side more often, I found that when I washed the fluffy side it lost it’s shape and unfortunately, a few bristle’s fell out almost instantly. Did this bother me all that much? Not really, as I care more about the shadows.

Would I recommend this product?

I would 100% recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a versatile, warm-toned beautiful palette with amazing pigmentation. Overall, it performs to the highest of standards and although the price of $42 may be quite expensive, in my opinion it is definitely worth it!

Have you used this palette? How do you feel about it? Let me know below!

 

Love Always,

Niamh x

Leave a Reply

